United Arab Emirates

نتيجة بحث الصور عن ‪uae map png‬‏
The United Arab Emirates is bordered by the Arab Gulf from the North, Gulf of Oman and the Sultanate of Oman from the East, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the Sultanate of Oman from the South, and the State of Qatar and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia from the West

The country is located between 22-26.5 N latitude, and 51-56.51 E longitude.

The United Arab Emirates has a 644 km long coast at the southern Arab Gulf, where the Emirates of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Ras Al Khaimah are located, while the 90 km long coast of the Emirate of Fujairah is located at the Gulf of Oman.

The area of the country is 83 600 km2, with the desert dominating most of this area with many popular oases. Most of the country's coast is dominated by sand except for the northern area at Ras Al Khaimah which constitutes the Hajer mountain cape.

The UAE has the Federal National Council, consisting of 40 members, appointed from each of the seven emirates. In addition, each emirate has its own local government, consisting of municipalities and departments,

There is also an independent Federal Judiciary, consisting of the Federal Supreme Court and the Courts of First Instance. Abu Dhabi's Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan is the UAE President, while Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum the governor of Dubai is the Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE.

The UAE's political system, based on its 1971 Constitution, is composed of several intricately connected governing bodies. Islam is the official religion, and Arabic is the official language. The UAE has a population of 8.19 million as estimated in 2010.

Metrological System in UAE

According to federal low No 28 year 2001 and concerning regulations, Emirates Authority for Standardization and Metrology (ESMA) is the sole authority for establishing and implementing metrology system in UAE, the metrological system in UAE is consists of the elements shown in figure above.

For these purpose (ESMA) cooperate with stake holders inside and outside UAE to achieve its goals. ESMA signed many MoU and agreements with many of the national, regional and international bodies dealing with metrology to achieve the international recognition of the UAE metrology system.

ESMA is a member of the following organizations:

  • GSO (Gulf Standardization Organization)
  • ISO (International organization for standardization)
  • IEC (International Electrotechnical commission) &(IECEE)
  • (AIDMO) Arab Industrial Development and Mining Organization.
  • (ALMP) Arab legal metrology program under supervision of (AIDMO)
  • OIML (Associate member).
  • (SIMIC) Standards and Metrology Institute for Islamic Countries

Beside that, ESMA is in the way to sign the meter convention within the coming two years to become a BIPM full member.

UAE Metrology System Laws and legislations

  1. The Federal Law no. (28) Of the year 2001 regarding establishment of Emirates Authority for Standardization & Metrology
  2. Cabinet Resolution No. (31) For the year 2006 regarding the National Measurement System
  3. Technical regulations for organizing legal metrology activities in UAE (5/1-18/6/2009)
  4. Metrological fees Regulations No: 22/2011
  5. Unified Measurement Law for Arab gulf countries the members of (GSO).
  6. Technical Regulations for legal measuring instruments .
  7. Technical Regulations for masses and balances.
  8. Technical regulation for the medical measuring instruments.

نتيجة بحث الصور عن ‪ESMA standards‬‏





© 2017 Gulf Associtaion for Metrology. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms of Use.

Powered By: NARD